Advisory Board

The Ivan Allen College Advisory Board provides advice to the dean regarding priorities and directions for liberal arts and social science education and research. Board members are from the private sector and academia and include both alumni and other individuals who are interested in the success of Georgia Tech.

Board Members

Blurb / Gallery Set


H. Inman Allen

(Emeritus Member)

Retired Chairman & CEO
Ivan Allen Company


Ivan Allen IV

Director of Enterprise Business Development
Staples Contract and Commercial


Stephen C. Hall

IM 1967
Colonel, USAF (Retired)


Hubert L. “Herky” Harris, Jr.

IM 1965
Owner of Harris Plantation


Ann Hoevel

STC 1998
Director of Communication
College of Design, GT


Douglas R. Hooker

ME 1978, M.S. TSP 1985
Executive Director
Atlanta Regional Commission


Richard R. House, Jr. (Chair)

ECON 1985
Founder and Managing Director
Joe Mack Ventures


James B. Langford

Executive Director
Shepherd Higher Education Consortium on Poverty


H. Bruce McEver

IE 1966
Berkshire Global Advisors


Joseph B. Owens, Jr

ECON 1977
Chief Financial Officer
Indego Africa


Amy Phuong

INTA 2005, MBA 2014 
Vice President, Government Relations
Atlanta Hawks & State Farm Arena


R. Hoke Smart

HTS 2000
Chief Financial Officer
Windsor Built Homes


Haywood Solomon

IM 1970
HFS Management Consultants


John M. Stern

Methods Workshop, LLC


L. Christopher Young, JD

HSOC 2000

Chief of Staff, South Market Unit
Senior Public Sector Consultant
Accenture’s State and Local Government Practice