Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts Students Awards and Scholarships

John Tone and Shivang Sullere

Posted April 22, 2016

Outstanding students were recognized this month with awards and scholarships from the Institute, College, and Schools.

The following awards were presented at the Georgia Tech Student Honors Luncheon:

Merri Gaye Hitt-Strauss Memorial Scholarship
Namrata Kolla (Public Policy)
The $1,500 scholarship is presented to Georgia Tech students who exemplify true love for Georgia Tech, strong character, and outstanding leadership. 

Georgia Tech Faculty Women’s Club Scholarships
Kevin Cheng 
These scholarships are granted to Georgia Tech undergraduates who are the children of Georgia Tech employees. Each recipient receives a $1,500 award based on academics, extracurricular involvement benefiting the community, and financial assistance. 

John Tone, associate dean of the Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts, presented six Ivan Allen College school awards at the Student Honors Luncheon. Award recipients from individual schools in the Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts include:

Excellence in Applied Languages and Intercultural Studies (ALIS) Award
Matthew Schauer
This award is given annually to the ALIS student who has demonstrated exemplary performance and outstanding achievement in this degree program from the School of Modern Languages. It consists of an engraved plaque and a check.

Homer Rice Award in History and Sociology of Technology and Science
Alice Clifton
This annual award is presented to the History, Technology, and Society graduate student who, through volunteerism, has fostered a sense of community within the School of History and Sociology, as well as within broader communities. Named in honor of Homer Rice, Georgia Tech’s former athletic director who initiated the award, it offers a modest monetary stipend, as well as an inscription of the recipient’s name on a plaque in the main hall of the Old Civil Engineering Building.

International Affairs Outstanding Graduate Student Award
John Krzyzaniak and Jon Schmid
The Sam Nunn School of International Affairs awards outstanding graduate students based on faculty recommendations and academic records. The recipients each receive $500.

James Dean Young Writing Award
Kristen Lawrence
This award recognizes the best essay written by a literature, media, and communication or computational media major in a 3000- or 4000-level Literature, Media, and Communication course and comes with $500.

Outstanding Economics Student Award
Shivang Sullere
This award is presented to the economics major who demonstrates not only outstanding scholarship but also service to the School of Economics. The award consists of $300 and a certificate.

William H. Read Award
Alexander Smith
This award is presented to a graduate student in public policy who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and initiative. William H. Read, Esq., was the Southern Bell Professor of Communications Policy and Chair of the School of Public Policy.

More awards:

School of Modern Languages Spring 2016 Awards

Excellence in Applied Languages and Intercultural Studies
Recipient:  Matthew Schauer

Excellence in Global Economics and Modern Languages
Recipient: Leilan Johnna Sheu

Excellence in International Affairs and Modern Languages
Recipient: Jacqueline Howell

Outstanding Senior in Chinese: Ethan Paul Everett

Outstanding Senior in French: Katherine Diane Clark

Outstanding Senior in German: Christopher Allen Harwell

Outstanding Senior in Japanese: Matthew Schauer

Outstanding Senior in Russian: Emily Elizabeth Simonds

Outstanding Senior in Russian: Guergana Iliyanova Terzieva

Outstanding Senior in Spanish: Megan Lee Sales

Student Achievement Awards

2016 Excellence in Global Economics and Modern Languages Award: Tiffany Suwoto

Best Oral Presentation in Ivan Allen College at Undergraduate Research Symposium: Lindsay Knapp (Computational Media)

Boren Scholarship: Lizzie Clark (International Affairs and ALIS (Russian))

Campoamor Scholarship for Study Abroad: Quynh Tran (Mechanical Engineer + ALIS Chinese)

Chinese Government Scholarship: Sara Cagle (Computer Science & ALIS Chinese)

Critical Language Scholarship: Lizzie Clark (International Affairs and ALIS (Russian))

George International Study Abroad Scholarship: Lizzie Clark (International Affairs and ALIS (Russian))

NROTC Marine Corps National Scholarship: Christopher Taylor (International Affairs and Modern Languages (Japanese))

Outstanding Global Economics and Modern Languages Student Award: Tiffany Suwoto (Global Economics and Modern Languages)

ROTC Officer's Association Bronze Medal for Achievement in the Arts and Science of National Defense: Christopher Taylor (International Affairs and Modern Languages (Japanese))

Student Staff Member of the Year: Jacob Whitfield (International Affairs)

Related Links

Additional Images

John Tone and Alexander Smith
John Tone and Jon Schmid
John Tone and John Krzyzaniak
John Tone and Alice Clifton

Contact For More Information

Rebecca Keane
Director of Communications
404. 894.1720