The College Celebrates the 2017 Spring Faculty and Staff Luncheon

Posted April 28, 2017

The Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts Spring Faculty and Staff Recognition Luncheon was held on April 18, 2017.

Dean Jacqueline Royster recognized the accomplishments of the College throughout the year, including the introduction of three new research centers and increased undergraduate enrollments for the second consecutive year.

Royster recognized Jamie Kazenstein, program coordinator in Enrollment and Student Affairs, for her “Ivan Allen expertise and her great instincts” as an asset to the College’s recruiting and student affairs efforts.

Recipients of the Distinguished Staff Awards, also known as “Buzz” Awards were Elizabeth Hyman (Public Policy), Fariah Majmundar (Modern Languages), and Joanna Jeskova (Dean’s Office) for their administrative services. Jillann Hertel (LMC) received an award for Student Services. Each award carries a $1,000 check.

Associate Dean of Undergraduate Students John Tone introduced the Ivan Allen Student Advisory Board officer who presented the Distinguished Teaching Awards. Alice Favero (Public Policy) received the award for non-tenure track faculty. Jenna Jordan (Nunn School) received the award for tenure track faculty.

Faculty members Richard Barke (Public Policy), Shatakshee Dhongde (Economics), and Michael Wiedorn (Modern Languages) were honored as members of the Center for Learning and Teaching’s inaugural cohort of Provost's Teaching and Learning Fellows. 

Dean Royster presented the Faculty Researcher Awards:  

The Gold Star – Level 1 awards recognize faculty who, for the first time, garner $100,000 or more in external research dollars. Recipients receive a $500 travel award. Gold Star 1 recipients are: Mariel Borowitz, Stuart Goldberg, Mikhail Klimenko, and Willie Pearson.

The Gold Star – Level 2 awards recognize faculty who bring in external research dollars above $100,000 subsequent to the Gold Star 1 or have received prestigious fellowships. They receive a $750 travel award. Recipients are: Michael Hoffman, Michael Nitsche, Mark Zachary Taylor, and John Walsh.

The Million Dollar Club recognizes faculty who have accumulated more than $1 million dollars in research over time. Recognition includes a $1,000 travel fund. Members of the Club include: Ian Bogost, Danny Boston, Marilyn Brown, Carl DiSalvo, Ute Fischer, Vicki Galloway, Sy Goodman, Chris LeDantec, Brian Magerko, Julia Melkers, Helena Mitchell, Phil Shapira, and Adam Stulberg.  

The Distinguished Faculty Researcher Award, carrying a one-time $20,000 research award, was awarded to Mary Frank Fox from the School of Public Policy.

The Distinguished Service Award was posthumously awarded to Thomas Lux, who was the Margaret T. and Henry C. Bourne, Jr. Chair in Poetry in the School of Literature Media, and Communication, as well as the director of Poetry@Tech. Lux’s widow, Jennifer Holley Lux, a former Brittain Postdoctoral fellow who works with Poetry at Tech, accepted the award on Lux's behalf.

“We are moving, we are growing, and we are continuing a quality of innovation in the humanities and social sciences that is like nowhere else, Dean Royster reminded the attendees.”

“My thanks go to all of you — faculty, staff, and students — for making it so,” she continued. “I encourage you to keep up the great work and have a wonderful summer.”

Related Media

(from left to right) Jenna Jordan, Alice Favero, Zara Albright, and Jacqueline Royster at the 2017 Faculty and Staff Luncheon

Mary Frank Fox

Related Link

Contact For More Information

Rebecca Keane
Director of Communications