Fox Elected AAAS Fellow

Posted November 20, 2017

Mary Frank Fox, ADVANCE professor in the School of Public Policy, was recently elected to the rank of fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). Election as a fellow of AAAS is an honor bestowed upon members by their peers.

Fellows are recognized for meritorious efforts to advance science or its applications. Fox was recognized “for distinguished research on women and men in scientific organizations and occupations, and for national leadership on issues related to diversity, equity, and excellence in science.” The honor will be bestowed at the AAAS conference on February 17, 2018.

Fox’s research focuses on women and men in academic and scientific organizations and occupations. Her research has introduced and established ways in which scientists’ participation and performance reflect and are affected by the social and organizational settings in which they are educated and work, with significant implications for science and technology policy.

Fox’s research is published in over 60 different journals, books, and collections. In 2015, she received an award as “Section Star” from the Science, Knowledge, and Technology Section of the American Sociological Association. In 2016, she received the Gender Equity Award at Georgia Tech, and in 2017 the Ivan Allen College Distinguished Research Award and the Faculty of the Year Award of the Student Government Association. 

Fox brings to the national forefront issues of diversity, equity, and excellence through her work with advisory boards and panels including those as Member of the Social Science Advisory Board, National Center for Women and Information Technology, Council Member, Section on Science, Knowledge, and Technology, American Sociological Association, Advisory Board, Expanding Computer Education Pathways Alliance, Editorial Board Member of the leading journal, Social Studies of Science, and elected member of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), Electorate Nominating Committee, Division on Social, Economic, and Political Sciences.

Fox was also elected to the AAAS Committee on Nominations who determine the slate for elections of the organization’s president-elect, board of directors, and the AAAS Council executive committee.

The School of Public Policy is part of the Georgia Tech Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts.

Related Media

Mary Frank Fox

Contact For More Information

Rebecca Keane
Director of Communications