Two Ivan Allen College Majors Are Research Fellows Developing Living Building Interactive Monitoring Systems

2019 SURF Group Photo

Posted March 18, 2019

Two Ivan Allen College Public Policy majors are among the twenty three Georgia Tech students selected for the second class of Sustainable Undergraduate Research Fellows (SURF). They are Elizabeth Krakovski and Christi Nakajima. 

As paid researchers, the fellows are developing prototypes of interactive building monitoring systems that convey the unique elements, qualities, and performance of the Kendeda Building for Innovative Sustainable Design (under construction) and the behaviors that it engenders among its occupants and visitors. Through SURF, the students will learn about sustainability, systems thinking, and how to apply these principles to the Georgia Tech Living Building. Their work is facilitated by Michael Chang, deputy director of the Brook Byers Institute for Sustainable Systems.

Here is the full list of SURF Fellows:

  • Elizabeth Krakovski, Public Policy
  • Christi Nakajima, Public Policy
  • Leo Chen (returning), Computer Science
  • Gigi Pavur (returning), Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
  • William Abdallah, Industrial Engineering
  • Joseph Buehler, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
  • Anielle Duritza, Environmental Engineering
  • Kian Halim (returning), Earth and Atmospheric Sciences
    Kyte Harvey, Mechanical Engineering
  • Connor Hawley, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
  • Chloe Kiernicki, Architecture
  • Matthew Lim, Computer Engineering
  • Micah Landwermeyer, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Farouk Marhaba, Computer Science
  • Kat Matthews, Business
  • Kathryn McCarthy, Biology
  • Shivan Mittal, Physics
  • Leah Claire Nofsinger, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Ashlyn Sasser, Industrial Design
  • Alexandra Schultz, Chemical Engineering
  • Ranal Apeksha Tudawe, Mechanical Engineering
  • Jeniveve Vaia, Material Science and Engineering
  • Eliya Olivia Wagner, Environmental Engineering

Edited from a story by Brent Verill, Communications Manager, BBISS

Related Links

Contact For More Information

Rebecca Keane
Director of Communications