Alliance to Save Energy Honors Public Policy Professor Marilyn Brown

Posted August 27, 2019

The Alliance to Save Energy (ASE) named Georgia Institute of Technology School of Public Policy Regents’ and Brook Byers Professor of Sustainable Systems Marilyn Brown as a recipient of the 2019 Charles H. Percy Award for Public Service. The ASE presents this award to individuals for outstanding public service in energy efficiency. Recipients promote innovative solutions that lower consumers’ energy bills while helping energy companies to reduce capital requirements and increase system utilization. 

Brown is no exception in this regard. She has published ground-breaking research on the integration of energy efficiency and demand response resources. She directed Oak Ridge National Lab’s efficiency and renewables program and was a two-term presidential appointee to Tennessee Valley Authority’s Board of Directors, where she promoted the concept of energy efficiency as a virtual power plant.

An awards gala was held in Washington, D.C. on September 19, 2019, with more than 400 energy efficiency executives, advocates, and government officials. “We’re honoring the leaders who spurred decades of energy efficiency gains, together with those making aggressive energy-saving advances today,” said ASE President Jason Hartke. “Without these awardees’ leadership, we’d be using and paying for more energy unnecessarily every day.”

Founded in 1977 by Sens. Charles H. Percy (R-Ill.) and Hubert Humphrey (D-Minn.), the Alliance to Save Energy was launched following the oil embargo of the 1970’s – a pivotal time in our nation’s history that exposed fundamental weaknesses in our nation’s economic security and challenged us to develop innovate energy solutions. The ASE is a nonprofit, bipartisan alliance of business, government, environmental and consumer leaders with a mission to promote energy productivity worldwide – including through energy efficiency – to achieve a stronger economy, a cleaner environment and greater energy security, affordability and reliability.

The School of Public Policy is a unit of Georgia Tech's Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts.

This article, originally written by Brent Verrill at the Brooks Byers Institute for Sustainable Systems, has been edited and condensed. 

Related Media

Marilyn Brown (on left) Alliance to Save Energy Award

Jenah Zweig, Supervisor of Policy & Technical Assistance for the U.S. Department of Energy; Marilyn Brown, Regents’ and Brook Byers Professor of Sustainable Systems; Mandy Mahoney, President of the Southeast Energy Efficiency Alliance

Contact For More Information

Brent Verrill, Communications Manager, BBISS